Splash Splash Love (퐁당퐁당 Love)

김슬기 (12)

This has to be one of the most cutest Korean drama I’ve ever watched.  Splash Splash Love is a 2 episode Korean drama (1 hour each) about a modern (year 2015) high school girl, named Dan Bi (played by Kim Seulgi), who magically teleports into the past – specifically to the early-1400s of the Joseon Era of Korea.  There she meets Lee Do, aka the future King Sejong the Great (played by Yoon Doo-Joon), and the two of them eventually fall in love with each other.

김슬기 (10)

The chemistry between Kim Seulgi (김슬기) and Yoon Doo-Joon (윤두준) was really great.  I’ve always loved Kim Seulgi’s acting so I wasn’t worried about her and Yoon Doo-Joon definitely has improved since I’ve last seen him act; I applaud them both for bringing the funny, the romance, and emotion to the show.  I really recommend Splash Splash Love – it is short, yet filled with so much cute romance, funny lines, and heart-tugging emotions.

Also, I love Kim Seulgi.  She’s not the prettiest around, but she is one of my favorite actresses.  She’s so adorable and cute, yet seems sad and quiet deep inside – despite being known as the “cursing girl” on SNL Korea or for playing comedic roles in dramas.  Per wiki, it says she became an actress to overcome a broken heart – so that adds to the sad aura I sense around her.  Makes me want to give her a hug…

Kim Seulgi is also a great singer – having acted in musicals too.  Below are some clips of her singing.

From start to finish, Splash Splash Love was great and jam-packed with sadness, happiness, and funny.  I really recommend this adorably cute drama.

Leave a Reply

